Skip to main content

Acknowledging an alert

Principle

When a host or a service has an incident and this incident is confirmed, the notification process is triggered. This can generate a notification sent to a contact.

The acknowledgment of an alert can be used to stop the notification process (sending of notifications) until the host or the service resumes its nominal status.

Example of use:

A service is in charge of checking the health of the hard disks in a disk array. A hard disk on a disk array goes down, and a notification is sent. The monitoring operator acknowledges the service, specifying that a team is in the process of dealing with the problem. Notifications are no longer sent. The service will return to its nominal state after a change of disk.

The acknowledgment of an alert means that a monitoring user has taken the problem into account - not that the incident has been corrected; this can only take effect when the check returns to its nominal state.

Practice

To acknowledge an alert:

  1. Go to Monitoring > Resources Status.

  2. Use one of the following methods:

    • Select the object(s) that you want to acknowledge, then click the Acknowledge button above the list of resources.

    • Hover over the resource you want to acknowledge, then click the Acknowledge icon that appears on the left.

      image

    The following window appears:

    image

    • The Comment field is generally used to provide the reason for the acknowledgment. It is mandatory.

    • If the Notify box is checked, a notification is sent to the contacts linked to the object to warn them that the incident on the resource has been acknowledged (if the contact possesses the activity acknowledgment notification filter).

    • If the Persistent box is checked, the acknowledgment will be maintained even if the monitoring engine is restarted. Otherwise, the acknowledgment disappears and the notification process is reactivated.

    • If the Sticky box is checked, the acknowledgment will be maintained in case of a change of Not-OK status (e.g.: DOWN to UNREACHABLE or WARNING to CRITICAL). Otherwise, the acknowledgment disappears and the notification process is reactivated.

Disacknowledging resources

To delete the acknowledgment of an incident on an object:

  1. Go to Monitoring > Resources Status.
  2. Select the objects you want to disacknowledge.
  3. In the More actions menu, click Disacknowledge.